Vasil A. Popov Prize in Approximation Theory

Call for 2010 Nominations

The Vasil A. Popov Prize was established in memory of the late Professor Vasil A. Popov (1942-1990) of Bulgaria in recognition of his contributions to approximation theory and related areas of mathematics. The prize was created with the aid of contributions from his colleagues and admirers, and is reserved for an outstanding young approximation theorist with at most 6 years of professional experience beyond the terminal degree. The prize is awarded every three years. Previous recipients of the Vasil A. Popov Prize are Albert Cohen, France (1995), Arno B. J. Kuijlaars, The Netherlands (1998), Emmanuel J. Candes, USA (2001), Serguei Denissov, USA (2004), and Mauro Maggioni, USA (2007).

The sixth Vasil A. Popov Prize will be awarded at the Thirteenth International Conference in Approximation Theory, to be held in March of 2010 in San Antonio, Texas. Eligibility for this prize is restricted to mathematicians who did not have their terminal degree on June 1, 2003. The winner of the prize will be asked to deliver a plenary lecture at the conference. The Selection Committee for the Vasil A. Popov Prize consists of Albert Cohen, Wolfgang Dahmen, Arno Kuijlaars, Paul Nevai, Pencho Petrushev (Chairman), Alan Pinkus, and Edward Saff. Nominations should include a brief description of the research related to the nomination. Other supporting material may also be submitted. Please direct all email correspondence concerning the Prize to

Nominations for the sixth Vasil A. Popov Prize should be sent (by November 1, 2009) to the Chairman of the Selection Committee:

Professor Pencho Petrushev
Department of Mathematics
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208, U.S.A

For more information on the Prize, see the official Popov Prize website.

Last Updated: February 19, 2009
Webmaster email: