Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee
May 14 (Wed) - May 17 (Sat), 2003

This conference will mark the official opening of the Special Year in Approximation Theory (May 2003 - May 2004) at Vanderbilt University, organized by the newly founded Center for Constructive Approximation. Our aim is to bring together researchers from diverse areas of approximation theory, to stimulate international collaboration, and to promote interaction and the exchange of ideas. We welcome the participation of pure and applied mathematicians working in approximation theory from around the world. We especially encourage young mathematicians and graduate students to attend. The conference is sponsored by the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) and by the Department of Mathematics of Vanderbilt University.

Plenary Speakers

Due to the recent passing of our esteemed colleagues and distinguished members of the approximation theory community, two special sessions will be dedicated to their memory. The session dedicated to Professor Gaier will be organized by N. Papamichael (, St. Ruscheweyh (, and R. S. Varga (, while the session in memory of Professor Light is organized by W. Cheney (, M. von Golitschek (, and X. Sun ( If you would like to participate in these sessions, please contact the above organizers.

We invite you to contribute a talk or a poster in any area of approximation theory and its applications. The duration of contributed talks will depend on the number of participants and will be announced at a later date. The deadline to submit an abstract is April 23, 2003. We expect to publish a proceedings containing survey papers by the invited speakers and refereed contributed papers. To learn more about the conference, please click here. If you would like to attend the conference, please register. If you register before April 30, 2003, you will be paying a discounted registration fee.

Organizing Committee

Akram Aldroubi
Doug Hardin
Mike Neamtu
Edward Saff

Last Updated: April 17, 2003
Website maintained by: M. Neamtu