Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University, May 3-9, 2013

(Vanderbilt Photo / Daniel Dubois)


Welcome to the homepage of the Eleventh Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras.

This year's topic is Index Theory and K-Theory. The Eleventh Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is a combination of spring school and international conference. During the school part of the meeting several mini-courses on a variety of topics from noncommutative geometry, operator algebras and related topics will be given by leading experts. The conference will consist of a number of invited research talks and short contributions. We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Please read the section on financial aid below regarding information on how to apply for financial support.
Speaker Affiliation Minicourse Topic
Paul Baum Penn State University

What is K-theory and what is it good for?

Expanders, exact crossed-products, and K-theory for group C* algebras

Nigel Higson Penn State University Positive Energy Representations and K-Theory
Jonathan Rosenberg University of Maryland Variants of K-theory and connections with noncommutative geometry and physics
Shmuel Weinberger University of Chicago Cracks in topological rigidity

Each mini-course will consist of 2-4 lectures. Click on the mini-course title to see an abstract (when available).


Invited Speakers

Speaker Affiliation  
Jacek Brodzki University of Southampton  
Stanley Chang Wellesley College  
Guillermo Cortiñas Universidad de Buenos Aires  

Marius Dadarlat

Purdue University  

Siegfried Echterhoff

University of Münster  

Heath Emerson

University of Victoria  
Guihua Gong Puerto Rico University  

Alexander Gorokhovsky

University of Colorado at Boulder  
Pierre Julg Université d'Orléans  
Xin Li University of Münster  
Tsuyoshi Kato Kyoto University  
Herve Oyono-Oyono University of Metz  
Markus Pflaum University of Colorado at Boulder  
Paolo Piazza Universita di Roma "La Sapienza"  
Kamran Reihani Northern Arizona University  
John Roe Penn State University  
Thomas Schick University of Göttingen  
Jan Spakula University of Münster  
Erik van Erp University of Hawaii  
Mathai Varghese University of Adelaide  
Hang Wang Tsinghua University  
Yi-Jun Yao Fudan University  
Robert Yuncken Université Blaise Pascal  
Weiping Zhang Nankai University  


All participants, including minicourse speakers and invited speakers, are asked to register online. Please use the link on the left side to register online. All questions should be directed to If you intend to request support, please read the section Reimbursement Policy.  There will be a registration fee of $50. Payment by cash or check is accepted at the conference.


Financial aid

Financial support will be available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. We encourage those of you who are asking for support to share accommodations. If you plan to apply for funding, please fill out the "Request Financial Support" portion of the registration form.  International participants need to fill out a Business Visitor QuestionnairePlease submit your request for financial support by March 19, 2013.  Late applications will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Eleventh Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is provided by the National Science Foundation through NSF grant DMS 0849242, by the College of Arts & Science and the Department of Mathematics at Vanderbilt University. We are grateful for their support.

Organizing Committee

Gennadi Kasparov, Vanderbilt University

Xiang Tang, Washington University

Rufus Willett, University of Hawai'i

Zhizhang Xie, Vanderbilt University

Guoliang Yu, Vanderbilt University and Texas A&M University