Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University, May 9-18, 2011

Welcome to the homepage of the Ninth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras. 
This year's topic is Index Theory and Hopf Algebras. The Ninth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is a combination of spring school and international conference. During the school part of the meeting several mini-courses on a variety of topics from noncommutative geometry, operator algebras and related topics will be given by leading experts. The conference will consist of a number of invited research talks and short contributions. We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Please read the section on financial aid below regarding information on how to apply for financial support.
Speaker Affiliation Minicourse Topic
Alain Connes Collège de France, IHES & Vanderbilt University Curvature and spectral invariants
Alexander Gorokhovsky University of Colorado Higher index theorems

Matthias Lesch

Markus Pflaum

Universitaet Bonn

University of Colorado

Connes-Chern character in relative K-homology

Henri Moscovici

Bahram Rangipour

The Ohio State University

University of New Brunswick

Hopf cyclic cohomology and transverse characteristic classes
Michael Puschnigg Universite de la Mediterranee Fredholm modules and discrete groups

Erik van Erp

Paul Baum

Dartmouth College

Penn State University

K-homology and Index Theory : Beyond Ellipticity
Zhizhang Xie Ohio State University APS and Connes-Chern character

Each mini-course will consist of 2-5 lectures. Please click on the mini-course title to see an abstract.

Invited Speakers

Speaker Affiliation  
Caterina Consani Johns Hopkins University  
Jacek Brodzki Southampton University  
Maria Gomez-Aparicio University of Paris, Orsay  
Nigel Higson Penn State University  
Masoud Khalkhali University of Western Ontario  
Herve Oyono-Oyono University of Metz  
Piotr Nowak Texas A & M University  
Raphael Ponge University of Tokyo  
John Phillips University of Victoria  
Xiang Tang Washington University  
Romain Tessera ENS de Lyon  
Mathai Varghese Adelaide University  
Christian Voigt Universität Münster  
Hang Wang Vanderbilt University  
Rufus Willet Vanderbilt University  
Yi-Jun Yao Fudan University  


All participants are asked to register. Please use the link on the left side to register online. All questions should be directed to If you intend to request support, please read the section Reimbursement Policy.  There will be a registration fee of $50. Payment by cash or check is accepted at the conference.

Financial aid

Financial support will be available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. We encourage those of you who are asking for support to share accommodations. If you plan to apply for funding, please fill out the "Request Financial Support" portion of the registration form. Please submit your request for financial support by March 1, 2011.  (This is a change from the previous date of April 1 to accomodate those requiring earlier notification of financial support.) Late applications will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Ninth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is provided by the National Science Foundation through NSF grant DMS 0849242, by the College of Arts & Science and the Department of Mathematics at Vanderbilt University. We are grateful for their support.

Organizing Committee

Alain Connes (Director), Collège de France, IHES & Vanderbilt University
Dietmar Bisch, Vanderbilt University
Gennadi Kasparov, Vanderbilt University
Guoliang Yu, Vanderbilt University