Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University, May 10-19, 2010

Welcome to the homepage of the Eighth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras. 
This year's topic is Von Neumann Algebras. The Eighth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is a combination of spring school and international conference. During the school part of the meeting several mini-courses on a variety of topics from noncommutative geometry, operator algebras and related topics will be given by leading experts. The conference will comprise a number of invited research talks and short contributions. We strongly encourage students and postdocs to attend this conference. Please read the section on financial aid below regarding information on how to apply for financial support.

Speaker Affiliation Minicourse Topic
Cyril Houdayer CNRS, ENS Lyon An introduction to II1 factors
Adrian Ioana UCLA & CMI W*-superrigidity for Bernoulli actions of property (T) groups
Vaughan Jones UC Berkeley The canonical rings of a subfactor
Narutaka Ozawa University of Tokyo Closable derivations on finite von Neumann algebras
Sorin Popa UCLA Basics of deformation/rigidity theory
Dimitri Shlyakhtenko UCLA Random matrices, free probability and applications
Stefaan Vaes KU Leuven W*-superrigidity for group measure space II1 factors
Dan Voiculescu UC Berkeley Aspects of Free Analysis 

Each mini-course will consist of 2-4 lectures. Please click on the mini-course title to see an abstract.


All participants are asked to register. Please use the link on the left side to register online.  All questions should be directed to  If you intend to request support, please read the section "Financial Aid'' .  There will be a registration fee of $50. Payment by cash or check is accepted at the conference.

Financial aid

Financial support will be available to (partially) fund graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and other participants without grant support. We encourage those of you who are asking for support to share accommodations. If you plan to apply for funding, please fill out the registration form (see link "Registration" on the left side) and the support request form (see link "Support Requests" on the left side). Please submit your request for financial support by April 2, 2010. Late applications will be considered as long as financial support is available. Note that we are unable to provide any support in advance.


Funding for the Eighth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras is provided by the National Science Foundation through NSF grant DMS 0849242, by the College of Arts & Science and the Department of Mathematics at Vanderbilt University. We are grateful for their support.

Organizing Committee

Dietmar Bisch, Vanderbilt University
Alain Connes, Collège de France, IHES & Vanderbilt University
Gennadi Kasparov, Vanderbilt University
Jesse Peterson, Vanderbilt University
Guoliang Yu, Vanderbilt University